Roasted Fruit

//Written by Caryssa Lim//

After seeing a recipe on a fabulous food blog called Local Milk, I attempted to adapt these beautiful pear, raspberry, dark chocolate scones …and failed miserably.

I’ve made scones before, and have the process down pat, or so I thought anyway. It really is simple; first you mix together the dry ingredients, then you add squares of cold butter and break them up into the dry ingredients. Add buttermilk, sour cream, or milk and yogurt, gently fold in your favorite scone add-ins, and you’re pretty much there.

Normally, after the addition of the buttermilk the dough should be shaggy, a little wet, and not too sticky. This time though, the recipe I was trying called for 1 full cup of buttermilk, and against my better judgment, I added the entire cup all at once. Huge mistake. This made my scone dough extremely wet, way more than it should have been. I tried to save the dough by adding more flour, but my proportions were already off, so it was pretty much beyond repair. I decided to go ahead and bake the scones anyway, and luckily they turned out plenty flavorful despite the slight mishap. Still, I’m hoping that the second time’s the charm the next time I try to make these scones.

Despite the mess that I made, I still came out with a new breakfast favorite. The scone recipe called for roasted pears and raspberries tossed in sugar and cinnamon. I didn’t use all of my roasted fruit in my scone disaster, so I left them aside on a plate.

I had planned to eat the attempted scones for breakfast, but I decided to plop a dollop of cottage cheese on my plate of roasted fruit. It was a surprise success. The roasted fruit makes for a hearty meal while still retaining the fruit’s fresh, light quality.  Light, filling, healthy, and quick, this’ll definitely be a new regular in my breakfast rotation.

Ingredients:

1 pear, diced into 1/2 in. cubes
½ cup raspberries
1 tbsp. granulated sugar
½ tsp. cinnamon
½ cup cottage cheese or Greek yogurt

 

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 F.
2. Toss the diced pears and raspberries with sugar and cinnamon. Make sure everything is evenly coated.
3. Bake at 375 F for 20 minutes. After 10 minutes, rotate pan to ensure even baking.
4. Let fruit mixture cool. This can be done in the refrigerator.
5. Spoon fruit mixture to new plate. Avoid juices.
6. Add dollop of cottage cheese or Greek yogurt to fruit mixture. Enjoy!

Photo credit: Caryssa Lim

Photo credit: Caryssa Lim

Leave a Reply

